[Skip to content]

Mid Cheshire Hospitals - NHS Foundation Trust
Departments and services How To Find Us
Search our Site

Hospital Staff Recognised at Annual Awards

COA 2014 - Selection of Winners
A selection of 2014 Celebration of Achievement award winners

More staff than ever before have been recognised for their hard work and dedication to improving patient care, as part of Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust’s annual Celebration of Achievement evening.

The Oscars-themed event, held at Nantwich Civic Hall and sponsored by Unison, was opened by a performance from the MCHFT staff choir, The Nightingales.  This was then followed by guest speaker, David Fillingham, Chief Executive of the Advancing Quality Alliance (AQuA), who spoke about the importance of staff recognition and the positive impacts that it has on patient care and experience.


COA 2014 - Patient Choice Winners
Joint winners of the Patient Choice Award 2014 – Ward 4 and the Fertility Team.

More than 200 members of staff attended the event, which saw 40 staff, teams and volunteers awarded for their innovation, determination and enthusiasm over the past year.

Staff and volunteers were nominated by their colleagues in all-but-one of the categories, with nominations for the remaining award coming from patients whose experience had been enhanced by Trust staff. The awards were carefully designed to ensure that everyone who had gone the extra mile in their daily work was eligible for nomination.

Speaking about the awards, Tracy Bullock, Chief Executive of MCHFT, said: “I am delighted that we’ve been able to recognise even more of our brilliant staff during what has been a significant year for the organisation.


COA 2014 - Chairman's Award Winner
Jonathon Nulty, Staff Nurse on Critical Care, receives his Chairman's Award recognising the contribution he has made during his long service to the Trust, from MCHFT Chairman Dennis Dunn MBE.

“During a year in which we were once again named as one of the top 40 hospitals in the country, we have also opened our new Operating Theatres, new Critical Care facilities, our charity-funded Neonatal Intensive Care Unit and our new main entrance, all of which are state-of-the-art and are already helping us to deliver an improved quality of care and experience to our patients and local community.

“However, whilst the treatment environments are obviously very important to a patient’s experience and outcomes, it is our staff that make the real difference by consistently going the extra mile, and I am very proud to work besides them."

If you’ve received great care or have had a positive experience as a result of a member of staff’s skill and compassion, and you would like to thank them, specially-designed “Thank You” cards are now available across all areas of the Trust’s hospitals to allow a quick and easy way of providing written recognition. Alternatively, a simple online form is available at www.mcht.nhs.uk/thankyou.

Additional Information


Please note that no Trust monies were used to fund the Celebration of Achievement event. The cost of the event was covered by sponsorship from Unison and charitable funds specifically donated for staff events.


Outstanding Contribution to Patient Service and Care
- Collette Barker and Chris Lindop, Corporate
- Kay Fowles, Diagnostics
- Laundry, Estates & Facilities
- Dr Simon Duckett, Medicine & Emergency Care
- Diane Barber, Surgery & Cancer
- Sexual Health Nurse Outreach Team, Women’s, Children’s & Sexual Health

Outstanding Contribution to Personal Development
- James Baker, Corporate
- Gill Chambers, Diagnostics
- Glen Graveson, Estates & Facilities
- Emma Brunt, Medicine & Emergency Care
- Sue Sarson, Surgery & Cancer
- Angela Bamford, Women’s, Children’s & Sexual Health

Outstanding Contribution to Quality and Safety
- Laura Jukes, Corporate
- Safe Medicines Practice Committee, Diagnostics
- Miriam Prussia, Estates & Facilities
- Verity Lockett, Medicine & Emergency Care
- Emma Quinn, Surgery & Cancer
- CNST Team, Women’s, Children’s & Sexual Health

Leadership Award
- Duncan Goff, Corporate
- Julie Worthington, Diagnostics
- Paul Swindells, Estates & Facilities
- Claire Smith, Medicine & Emergency Care
- Kath Woolley, Surgery & Cancer
- Colette Palin, Women’s, Children’s & Sexual Health

Divisional Team of the Year
- iTIC Project Team, Corporate
- ChemoCare Team, Diagnostics
- Capital Development, Estates & Facilities
- Critical Care, Medicine & Emergency Care
- Acute Pain Team, Surgery & Cancer
- CNST Team, Women’s, Children’s & Sexual Health

Divisional Employee of the Year
- Julie Mitchell, Corporate
- Julia Hulland-Vernon, Diagnostics
- Paul Swindells, Estates & Facilities
- Sian Axon, Medicine & Emergency Care
- Annette Lewis, Surgery & Cancer
- Rebecca Heys, Women’s, Children’s & Sexual Health

Volunteer of the Year
- Jenny Wright, Royal Voluntary Service Outpatients Café

Bright Ideas Award
- Duncan Fullerton, with a Bright Idea relating to clearer name badges for staff

Patient Choice Award (nominations provided by patients, carers, relatives and visitors)
- Ward 4 Team and Lynda Coughlin & Helen Jesson, Obstetrics and Gynaecology Consultant and Fertility Nurse

Chairman’s Award (nominations provided by staff for colleagues who have been at the Trust for 20 years or more, or who have made a significant contribution during their time here)
- Jonathon Nulty, Staff Nurse Critical Care